Northeast Johnson County Watershed Study
Northeast Johnson County Watershed Study

City Construction Projects

The Project Johnson County Public Works has completed a watershed study of the major creeks and streams in the Northeast corner of the County. The Northeast watershed is approximately 38.5 square miles and contains 5 watersheds (Brush Creek, Dykes Branch, Lake Quivira, Rock Creek, and Turkey Creek). Lake Quivira and Turkey Creek are partially located in the City of Shawnee.

This project was coordinated by Johnson County as part of a team with the following 14 cities: Countryside Fairway Lake, Quivira, Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Roeland Park, Shawnee, Westwood, Westwood Hills.

The watershed study generated new floodplain maps, which were submitted to FEMA and used to prepare new FEMA Floodplain Maps, which took effect in August 2009.

For additional information on this issue contact Michael Gregory, P.E., Stormwater Manager (913) 742-6312.